Agapi village on Tinos : “The passage to Love (Agapi means love in Greek)…”
Agapi village is one of the oldest villages of the island. In the Middle Ages it was called “Passage”, since passing through the village, the road was leading to the capital of the island, those days.The parish church of Our Lady was renamed in the 18th century to church of St Agapitou and gave his name to the village.
The architecture is of particular interest: The houses that retain traditional elements, labyrinthine alleys with characteristic arches, natural springs, wells with laundry room, forming a picturesque village, representative of the aesthetics of the island.
The valley ,starting from Agapi and leading to the plain of Komi and the brook running through it, in older times, was one of the biggest rivers of the island. Take a walk to Griza where running waters, green countryside and pigeon houses create
a unique landscape.
Near the village (4km to the North) is the Shrine of Our Lady of Vourniotissa. According to tradition, the fishermen of Sklavochorio found the icon on 8 September 1670, the celebration day of the church.
Situated 14 km off Chora (Tinos). Follow the new main road of Τinos – Panormos. After leaving Komi (village) turn right towards Agapi.