Until the ’60s, Triantaros was one of the villages of Tinos with over 300 residents. There are indications that the village existed since the medieval period (about 1000 AD).
The unique view of Tinos to the surrounding islands, and respect for the traditional architectural features are the two main characteristics of the village.
Starting from Triantaros, two streams flow into Gyrla and Agia Paraskevi, creating green valleys. In the wider region the windmills and watermills were gradually abandoned or
converted into homes.
Vrisi (upper village) and Xynari (lower village) are the two traditional wells in Triantaros while the springs under the poplar trees are a point of reference among locals.
In the square of Xynari, a well-preserved part of the old traditional olive press attracts the attention.
The Hero’s monument, the work of John Philipotis, a great sculptor, is also worthseeing.
The parish church of Triantaros, the Church of Apostles, built in 1861, is one of the greatest on the island and boasts for its marble and carved interior decoration.
The church of Gria Panagia (the name indicates the familiarity of the people with the divine element, since “gria” they called their mother), had two temples: one for the orthodox and one for the Catholics who attended services under the same roof.
The form of an animal-like rock, the”Vayo”, as it was known, was a place that children used to avoid since it had been connected with scary tales and legends. The last Sunday before Easter, the children of Triantaros rivaled those of Dyo Horia over who will succeed to conquer and subdue the magical rock.
Located 7 km away from Tinos (Chora). Follow the old road network (starting from Zannaki Alavanou Av.) and at the first junction turn right toward Triantaros.